December 31, 2020

EE Football Team extends the contracts of five players.

The Edmonton Football Team announces today they have extended the contracts of five players:

  • American linebacker Vontae Diggs (through 2021)
  • National fullback Tanner Green (through 2023)
  • National defensive back Scott Hutter (through 2022)
  • National wide receiver Tevaun Smith (through 2021)
  • National kicker Sean Whyte (through 2021)


Vontae Diggs will be entering his second full season with the EE Football Team after being named the club’s Rookie of the Year in 2019. During his first season with the Green and Gold, Diggs recorded 84 total tackles, along with two sacks, one interception, and one forced fumble.

Tanner Green was a fourth-round-pick (32nd overall) in the 2018 CFL draft by the EE Football Team. The Lacombe, AB product has since become an important special teams player in his first two seasons, recording 19 special teams tackles in 20 games.

Scott Hutter was a sixth-round-pick (50th overall) in the 2019 CFL draft by the EE Football Team. In eight career CFL games, the Wilfred Laurier product has recorded 11 special teams tackles.

Tevaun Smith was the EE Football Team’s first pick (8th overall) in the 2016 CFL draft. Smith spent three seasons in the NFL split between the Indianapolis Colts, Oakland Raiders, and Jacksonville Jaguars before arriving in Edmonton in 2019. In his first season with the Green and Gold, Smith caught 55 passes for 632 yards and six touchdowns.

Sean Whyte will be entering his sixth season with the EE football Team. The White Rock, BC native has never had a field goal percentage below 87% as a member of the Green and Gold. In his 11-year CFL career, Whyte has accumulated 1415 points and holds the EE Football Team record for consecutive field goals made (25).